Welcome to the County of Berks
Kenneth L. Pick, Executive Director
Mission Statement: In order to make Berks County a better place to live, the Redevelopment Authority provides access to federal, state, and local funds for community redevelopment and housing rehabilitation.
About the Redevelopment Authority
The Redevelopment Authority was formed in 1961 under Pennsylvania’s Urban Redevelopment Law. Its mission is to eliminate blight and dangerous conditions. The Authority is authorized by the Board of County Commissioners and operates independently. Building a vibrant community, through eliminating blight and dangerous conditions is a collaborative effort. The Authority is in partnership with County government and local municipalities, Pennsylvania state agencies, area non-profits, and community groups. Our focus is to locate and support economic development opportunities for business owners and developers, as well as to assist local businesses with obtaining the capital they seek to invest and expand.
In the past 50-plus years, the Redevelopment Authority has played an important part in helping to make Berks County a great place to live, work and play. It has worked in everything from flood recovery efforts to management of the County’s federal entitlement housing and community development programs. It fulfills its role in the County’s community revitalization, using tools and funding programs administered by federal, state and local government agencies.
Board Members and Solicitors
  • Mr. Glenn Yeager, Chairman
  • Ms. Eileen Kastura, Vice Chairman
  • Mr. Barry Rohrbach, Secretary
  • Mr.Theodore Bassano, Treasurer
  • Mr. Pellegrino Orlando, Assistant Secretary/Assistant Treasurer
  • Ms. Pamela Cala, Esq., Solicitor, Kozloff Stoudt
Executive Director: Kenneth Pick
Fiscal Officer: Katherine Miller
Housing Director: Thomas Dachowski
Executive Assistant: Kathleen Heckman
Berks County Redevelopment Authority
Services Center, 14th Floor
633 Court Street
Reading, PA 19601
Phone: 610-478-6325
Fax: 610-478-6326
Mon-Fri: 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.