Welcome to the County of Berks
​Berks County Solicitor's Office

Mission Statement

To provide responsive, exceptional and ethical legal services in a cost-effective manner to the Board of Commissioners, County Departments, Elected Officials and the taxpayers of Berks County so that the County may achieve its policy and operational goals while advancing the public trust.

Purpose
 
The Solicitor's Office acts as General Counsel to the County Commissioners and all County departments. Under the County Code the duties of the Solicitor are to: 
 
"commence and prosecute all suits brought, or to be brought, by the County, wherein any rights, privileges, property claim or demands of the County involved, as well as defend all actions or suits brought against the County, and shall perform all duties now enjoined by law upon county solicitors, and shall do all and every professional act and render legal advice incident to the office which may be required of him by the commissioners."  16 P.S. § 902
 
The Solicitor's duties include the following:
  • Prepare and revise Ordinances and resolutions;
  • Litigate legal actions and claims brought by or against the County;
  • Draft and approve contracts, agreements, or other legal documents executed by authorized county officials;
  • Coordinate and supervise all outside counsel.
The Solicitor's Office does not provide legal advice, legal counsel or legal services to the general public.
 
Core Values
  • Quality Legal Representation
  • Integrity
  • Accountability
  • Professionalism
  • Efficiency

Contact Information

Address
Solicitor's Office
633 Court Street, 13th Floor Services Center
Reading, PA  19601

Phone: 610-478-6105
Fax: 610-478-6139

Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Closed Holidays

Christine M. Sadler,
Solicitor

Legal Staff:

Christine M. Sadler 
Solicitor
csadler@countyofberks.com
610.478.6105 ext. 6108 

J. Chadwick Schnee 
First Assistant Solicitor
cschnee@countyofberks.com
610-478-6105 ext. 6107

Paul T. Bradshaw Assistant Solicitor
pbradshaw@countyofberks.com  610-478-6105 ext. 6109

Jennifer L. Grimes
Assistant Solicitor for Children & Youth Services
jgrimes@countyofberks.com
610-478-6700 ext. 6769

James F. Gallagher, Jr. Assistant Solicitor for Children & Youth Services
jgallagher@countyofberks.com
610-478-6700 ext. 6984

Jessica Albright 
Paralegal
jalbright@countyofberks.com
610-478-6105 ext. 6110​​
 
Maryjo Gibson                         Chief Clerk/ Paralegal               mgibson@countyofberks.com  610-478-6105 ext. 6105
 
Beverly A. LeVan
Paralegal
blevan@countyofberks.com
610-478-6105 ext. 6106​​