Welcome to the County of Berks
Passenger Rail

The Berks County Commissioners have approved taking the next steps toward restoring passenger rail service between Reading and Philadelphia in a joint effort with Chester and Montgomery counties.

A Tri-County Passenger Rail Committee was created in February 2021 to garner information and support for the initiative. The Committee is confident that passenger rail service in places like Reading, Pottstown, Phoenixville, and possibly Wyomissing, could increase economic development, property values, transportation and job opportunities throughout the corridor.

Passenger Rail Proposed Route.png

Schuylkill River Passenger Rail Authority Proposal
The Tri-County Passenger Rail Committee has recommended that the next step is for Berks, Chester and Montgomery counties to establish a new transportation authority. The Commissioners from each county will be holding public hearings in April on the proposal to create the Schuylkill River Passenger Rail Authority. ​
The SRPRA would replace the Tri-County Passenger Rail Committee and be supported with representation and funding from all three counties. The authority will have the power to formalize agreements, procure funding and provide for a direct governmental body that can work with AMTRAK, PennDOT, the Federal Railroad Administration and other necessary partners.
The Berks County Commissioners passed a resolution on April 21, 2022 to authorize the creation of the Schuylkill River Passenger Rail Authority.  Montgomery County Commissioners passed a similar resolution on April 21 and the Chester County Commissioners will be voting holding a hearing on April 27.


 Questions or feedback can be submitted to PassengerRail@countyofberks.com
Past Studies

The Berks Alliance funded a study about the benefits of passenger rail service to Berks County.
The July 2020 report from the study can be found here​.
PennDOT also completed an analysis of passenger rail from Reading to Philadelphia.
The December 2020 report is available here.

Partner Counties