Hereford Township
Skip navigation links
About Us
Our Events Calendar
Skip navigation links
LibrariesExpand Libraries
Ambulance, Fire and Police Expand Ambulance, Fire and Police
Hereford Township Heritage Society
Local Government OfficesExpand Local Government Offices
Open RecordsExpand Open Records
Other ServicesExpand Other Services
Resources and Links
Road Services
Township of Hereford
Berks County > Municipalities > Hereford Township


Address: 3131 Seisholtzville Road, Macungie, Pa 18062

Office Hours: 

  • Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday - 7:00 AM to 12:00 PM & 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM
  • Wednesdays -7:00 AM to 11:00 AM

Phone:   610-845-2929
Fax:  610-845-0616

Office Staff

Diane Hollenbach

Assistant Secretary/Treasurer
Louisa Masemore

Right-to-Know Officer
Louisa Masemore


Assistant Right-to-Know Officer
Diane Hollenbach

Board of Supervisors

  • Chairman: John G. Membrino (term ends 2025) Email:
  • Vice-Chairman:  Keith J. Masemore (term ends 2023) Email:
  • Supervisor: Karla T. Dexter (term ends 2021) Email:
  • Secretary:  Diane Hollenbach
  • Solicitor
    Eugene Orlando, Jr.
    Orlando Law Offices, P.C
    2901 St. Lawrence Avenue, Suite 202
    Reading, Pa 19606
    Phone: 610-779-3830
  • Engineer
    Technicon Enterprises, Inc. II
    Jennifer McConnell
    200 Bethlehem Drive, Suite 201
    Morgantown, Pa. 19543
    Phone: 610-286-1622
    Fax: 610-286-1679
  • Zoning Officer/Building Inspector/Sewage Enforcement Officer
    Technicon Enterprises Inc., III
    200 Bethlehem Drive, Suite 201
    Morgantown, Pa. 19543
    Phone: 610-286-1622
    Fax: 610-286-1679

The Hereford Township Board of Supervisors meets the first and third Tuesday of every month at 7:30 pm. The Board is a three member governing body elected for staggered six-year terms.

The Board of Supervisors is charged with the general governance of the Township and the execution of legislative, executive, and administrative powers in order to ensure sound fiscal management and to secure the health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of the Township.

Planning Commission

  • Chairman:  Curt Kuhns (term ends 2022)
  • Vice-Chairman: Albert Ciccarone (term ends 2024) 
  • Secretary: Kimberley Poley  (term ends 2021)
  • Member: Elwood Harper (term ends 2021)
  • Member:  Karla Dexter (term ends 2023)
  • Secretary: Louisa Masemore
  • Engineer
    Technicon Enterprises, Inc. II
    Jennifer McConnell
    200 Bethlehem Drive, Suite 201
    Morgantown, Pa. 19543
    Phone:  610-286-1622
    Fax:  610-286-1679

The Planning Commission consists of five residents who serve as volunteers appointed by the Board of Supervisors for staggered four-year terms.

The Planning Commission is an advisory board to the Board of Supervisors. Its function is to review subdivisions, land development plans, conditional use applications, and to make recommendations regarding these matters to the Board of Supervisors.

The Planning Commission meets monthly on the last Wednesday of the month at 7:00 p.m.

Zoning Hearing Board

  • Chairman:  Vacant   (term ends 2023)
  • Vice-Chairman:  Timothy Haas (term ends 2021)
  • Secretary:  Vacant   (term ends 2022)
  • Alternate Member:  William Dexter (term ends 2022)
  • Solicitor
    Elizabeth A. Magovern
    1100 Berkshire Boulevard, Suite 301
    Reading, Pa 19610
    Phone:  610-779-0772

The Zoning Hearing Board’s job is to help assure fair and equitable application and administration of the Zoning Ordinance by hearing appeals of the Zoning Officer’s decisions and granting relief from the literal enforcement of the Ordinance in certain hardship situations.

The board consists of three residents and one alternate resident appointed by the Board of Supervisors.

The Zoning Hearing Board will meet if an application or an appeal has been filed. When the Zoning Hearing Board does have a meeting it starts at 7:00 pm.

Environmental Advisory Council

  • Chairman:  Mary Rives Young (term ends 2021)
  • Vice-Chairman: 
  • Secretary:  Robert Bolen (term ends 2022)
  • Member:  Steve Cunningham (term ends 2022)
  • Member:  Vacant  (term ends 2021)
  • Member:  Vacant (term ends 2020)

The Environmental Advisory Council  meets every other month on the 2nd Monday at 7:30 p.m.

Recreation Committee

  • Chairman: Elizabeth Meier (term ends 2021)
  • Secretary: Dorothy Doyle (term ends 2023)
  • Member: Nicole Moyer (term ends 2024)
  • Member: Kathy Berry (term ends 2025)
  • Member:  Emily Doyle (term ends 2021)
  • Member: Vacant (term ends 2025)
  • Junior Member: Vacant

The Recreation Committee's job is to make recommendations to the Board of Supervisors and act on recommendations from them regarding maintenance and improvements to township parks. The committee consists of adult and teen resident volunteers. The Committee meets 8 months a year on the third Monday of those months at 7:00PM.

Board of Auditors

  • Member:  Harry Waterman (term ends 2021)
  • Member:  Timothy White (term ends 2021)
  • Member:  vacant    (term ends 2022 )

Tax Collector

  • Jackie Watkins (term ends 2021)
    979 Gravel Pike, Palm PA 18070   (484)941-3743

Work Crew

  • Road Master: Keith J. Masemore 
  • Road Superintendent:  Chris Day
  • Work Crew:  Brian Povenski
  • Work Crew:  Position open

Vacancy Board

Michael Lynch (term ends 2021) 

Joint Board of Appeals

Robert Bolen (term ends 2021)

Agricultural Security Area Committee

  • Warner Tuttle (term ends 2021)
  • Keith Masemore (term ends 2021)
  • Glenn Hoffman (term ends 2021)
  • Karla Dexter (term ends 2021)
  • Steve Cunningham (term ends 2021)


Peter Glenn (term ends 202)

Second Class Township

  • 2000 Population – 2,997
  • School District :   Upper Perkiomen
  • Municipal Tax Millage for 2021 - 1.2 mills
  • School Tax Millage for 2017-2018 - 24.3479 mills
  • County Tax Rate for 2021​ - 7.372 mills